U2, A HOTEL ROOM, AND ME

When I head out on the highway I usually bring along my own mix of music. Depending on a particular radio station to play my favorite tunes is an exercise in futility. I didn’t always feel this way. Never worried about taking my eyes off the road to glare at the radio, hoping that I’d find one station that played the songs I liked best. It worked out much of the time. That’s how I first discovered U2’s I Will Follow. I really liked their Boy album and went scouting for anything else they released. Soon found U2-3, a 12-inch import EP. When October was released, I had the record company send over a copy. Then the band came to the states to promote it and I made sure I got an interview.

U2’s publicist directed me to the hotel where the band was staying. Larry Mullen, Jr., Adam Clayton, and the Edge were there. Bono was not. I considered myself lucky, anyway. I’m waiting for one of them, or all three, to sit down and tell me things. Clayton and the Edge are deciding who will sign for room service. Then they talk. The interview first appeared in Relix Magazine and then was changed around for several other publications.

I’m looking at the Relix piece and remember the buzz. There was a string of press people scheduled to meet the band that day. We patiently wait in the hotel lobby ’til we were tapped to meet the band. It was like meeting royalty. They were a few years away from major rock stardom, but were on the way. Constant touring and rounds of press interviews were simply part of the plan. Mullen said, “We play five dates in a row that are 200 miles away from each other, so we don’t see much of anything.”

U2 shrugged off any attempts to label them as a certain type of band. The Edge explained, “I would never want to label the band. We’re a three-piece band with a vocalist. We use bass, drums, and guitar. The three primary colors. We approach it in that type of way because each instrument is individual.”

The press did label U2 with a psychedelic tag and grouped them alongside Echo and the Bunnymen and the Teardrop Explodes. Mullen continued, “We tried, right from the beginning of the band, to avoid any boxes. I think we succeeded.

The hotel room is getting crowded and noisy. A publicist stops by to check on things. I worry if I’ll hear the interview when I play back the tape and how I can get the band to provide quotes that will impress my editors. Clayton offered, “We grow and we’re going to change. The reason that some people like Boy and not October is because it’s a different album. For others, maybe some of the reasons they didn’t like Boy changed for October and they could relate to it better.”

Everything stopped for the briefest moment when Bono walked in. He smiled and headed right back out. I sure would have loved to have a sit down with him. At least I’m able to exploit that moment now and title this U2, a hotel room, and me!

Copyright Β© October 01, 2007

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

13 responses to “U2, A HOTEL ROOM, AND ME

  1. Thanks so much for dropping by and leaving a comment at Layla’s! Your blog here is wonderful, hope you don’t mind if I link to it. It sounds like you’ve lived a few of my dreams!

  2. Your blog is great! Glad you like mine and decided to link. I’m looking for 1.1 million link-ups by the end of the year. I sure did have fun.

  3. Who would be your favorite artist/band to interview now? Your wishlist of interviews, if you’ll indulge me πŸ™‚

  4. Do you prefer being addressed as Mr. N? Mr. E? N. Tropy? Do let us know!

    At this particular moment, my wish list is:

    Robert Plant (Nothing beats Zep, but his upcoming collaboration w/Alison Krauss sounds promising);
    Paul McCartney (I’ll join the line of those waiting for a chat);
    Patti Scialfa (picked up on Rumble Doll and followed since);
    Neil Young (so many things to ask)
    Miriam Stockley (been a fan since Adiemus. So talented.)

    Who are your top 5 fave bands/artists?

  5. Oh, it doesn’t matter. E, MrE, “Hey you!” Or just plain Austin. All of them are fine.

    It’s hard to say what my top five are. In no particular order, I guess they would be:

    New Model Army
    No Means No
    Yes
    Alan Parsons Project
    Dead Kennedys.

    But then there’s Rush, also. And Love and Rockets. Peter Murphy. They’re all sort of up there, you know?

  6. Hi Austin,

    My top acts I’d like to hang with are:

    Amy Lee
    Metallica
    Noel Gallagher w/or w/o Liam
    Amy Winehouse

    I guarantee any day spent with any one of them would NOT be dull.

  7. from one Musings to another… glad you found and enjoyed my blog!

    I notice you have the blog of one of my good friends on your blogroll as well (Mennogirl)…I suppose that may be how you found me…

  8. Cool read. Ain’t it amazing to think there was a time when U-2′ and their egos could actually fit in one hotel room.

  9. U2 were good around the Zoo album: the rest is for Italians in tight trousers.

    The 80s were Better

  10. Thanks to y’all. Keep those cards & letters….coming. Dave: Small World. Like the Mennogirl and happy to have met ya! Bill, love shiny new Harleys. Stopping by your neck of the woods, soon. Geekpie: U2 had their ups and downs, but I prefer the earlier days.

  11. Bill: I was going to say something about maybe Bono left the room because his head didn’t fit in it, but thought it might be in bad taste πŸ˜€

  12. Bono can take it! Heheh.

  13. I reckon anyone who’ll perform with his arm in a cast probably can πŸ™‚

    Him and Jarvis Cocker (Pulp).

Leave a Reply

